Our Gambling News Section Has Moved. Visit Our New Online Gambling News Section For Current Articles

The NFL Hall Of Fame Class Of 2009 Enshrined Today

NFL News - August 6th, 2009 - Written by Ryan Smith

nfl hall of fame logoThis years NFL Hall Of Fame Class is composed of an array of football enthusiast From wide receivers to former owners. The six-man class was elected earlier this morning by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, this committee finalized their selections in Tampa, Florida. The members of this years six-man class were selected from a total of 17 candidates that were all pre-determined by the committee earlier in the year.

The six-man class consist of these ex-football super-stars wide receiver Bob Hayes, guard Randall McDaniel, defensive end Bruce Smith, defensive back Rod Woodson, owner Ralph Wilson, and linebacker Derrick Thomas. This six-man enshrinement class of 2009, will increase the number of honored pro football players in the NFL Hall of Fame to 253 members. Just as it is every year, the enshrinement ceremony will take place at the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton Ohio, on Saturday, August 8, 2009 at 7:00p.m. eastern time. Two media out lets have decided to televise the event, both ESPN and the NFL Network start coverage at 7:00 p.m. eastern time. The famous annual Hall of Fame game will host the Tennessee Titans and the Buffalo Bills, and will be played on Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 8:00 p.m, and will be televised by NBC.

"Bullet Bob" Hayes is now as one of the fastest players to ever play the game of football, and discovered his speed in the 1964 Olympics, winning a gold medal in track and field. Hayes also caught 371 passes for 7,414 yards and 71 touchdowns. Randall McDaniel, one of the best names in all football history started 202 football games in a row before retiring. Bruce Smith one of the most known players inducted this year, played his entire career for the Buffalo Bills and once held the record for most sacks by any player at 200 sacks. Derrick Thomas was also known for sacking the quarterback and amassed more sacks in the 1990's than any other player. The oldest figure in this years enshrinement class, is ex Buffalo Bills owner Ralph Wilson, who founded the Buffalo Bills franchise in 1959. Arguably the most athletic football player to get enshrined this weekend, is long time corner back Rod Woodson. Woodson is the NFL record holder for career interceptions returned for touchdowns, and interception return yards, he also third on the list of all-time interceptions at 71. These six-man helped define the way football should be played.

To discuss this and other NFL related stories be sure to check out our new forum at: