Arizona State Sun Devils Get Top Seed In College World Series 64-Team Tournament

June 1st, 2010-  By Bryan Cross

The Arizona State Sun Devils have been rewarded with the top overall seed in the 2010 NCAA Men’s Baseball Tournament by virtue of their 47-8 record and Pac-10 conference championship.

To the selection committee, their was really no other choice.

“They really didn’t make very many mistakes throughout the course of the season and down the stretch,” remarked NCAA selection committee chairman Tim Weiser. “I think they, for the most part, from beginning to end have been a team that people have recognized and looked at as kind of separate from a lot of other teams.

Following the Sun Devils is Texas, Florida, Coastal Carolina, Virginia, UCLA, Louisville and Georgia Tech as the remaining seven national seeds.

The Pac-10 conference,  Southeastern Conference and Atlantic Coast Conference led the way with eight teams each in the 64-team tournament.

“It was a unique feature for us, especially when it came to trying to determine how we distribute these teams from a regional standpoint,” Weiser added.

There will be 16 regionals that will take place, with the winners of each advancing to a Super Regional, and the winners of those eventually moving on to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb that will begin on June 19.

“Although we had a lot of debate on the seven and eight seeds, I cannot recall us having any debate or discussion about Arizona State,” said Weiser, who is the director of athletics at Kansas State University.

The No.1 seed marks the first time in the school’s history that the baseball team has received the top honor.

However, only Miami in 1999 has gone on to win the National Championship as the top seed in the 64-team field.

The Hurricanes will make their 38th straight post-season appearance, as fellow ACC team Florida State makes their 33rd consecutive berth.

The Seminoles received a No.1 seed, but are the only team not to host a regional that received a top ranking.  Instead, Connecticut will host the regional, as the committee broke tradition and wanted to move a regional to a different place.

“I think we felt like if we could do this without sacrificing the integrity of our seeding process and what we consider to be our top 16 seeds, we at least needed to explore that,” Weiser said. “It was the right thing to do given the option of a Northeast location that we don’t usually have.”

2009 College World Series champions LSU will face UC Irvine in their first round Regional action.

USA Online Sportsbooks have not installed betting lines for the 2010 College World Series, but will be provided as soon as they become available.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Best USA Gambling Sites
Top USA Casinos
Visit Casino
Top USA Sportsbooks
Bookmaker Sportsbook
DSI Sportsbook
Top USA Poker Rooms