Aussie Millions Moves Forward, Field Thins With Several Pros On Top

January 25th, 2011 – by Glen Farmer

The 2011 version of the Aussie Millions tournament is underway. Running along side the the World Poker Tour’s Southern Poker Championship, the Aussie Millions has successfully attracted most of the major professional players in the industry.

Both Day 1a and 1b of the Aussie Millions have been put on the books, and many professionals have been proving successful. Despite some of the bigger names proving successful, others have also been eliminated.

Phil Ivey, Patrik Antonius, Erick Lindgren, Jeff Lisandro, Scott Montgomery, Chris Ferguson, and Roland de Wolfe will all be taking their seats in day 2 along with the rest of the field.

Some big names have also fallen. Bad luck fell on Gus Hansen, David Benyamine, Ben Savage, Joe Hachem, Eli Elezra, Tony Dunst and Tom Dwan had all been sent packing in the first day of the event.

The seriousness of the event was truly seen when Phil Ivey received a penalty in the event. Ivey was given a five minute penalty for using his phone at the table. Under the tournament’s rules, players are not entitled to be on the phone, text, tweet, or surf the web while at the tale. Ivey disputed the penalty, but was forced to sit out anyway. This penalty will make his win, if he takes it, even more significant.

Last year’s winner, Tyron Krost, is already out of the 2010 Aussie Millions Main Event, paving the way for a new winner.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Best USA Gambling Sites
Top USA Casinos
Visit Casino
Top USA Sportsbooks
Bookmaker Sportsbook
DSI Sportsbook
Top USA Poker Rooms